Sunday, 21 July 2013

Anne Boleyn's Gateway

It was Henry VIII who built what we now know as Anne Boleyn's Gateway. Of course, it was not named so at the time (seems unlikely that Henry would erase all trace of Anne but allow that name) but was given its name later on due to one beautiful, yet tragic detail: the surviving initials of Anne Boleyn and Henry VIII intertwined with a so-called "lover's knots". These emblems were overlooked in 1536 when Henry had ordered all Anne's emblems replaced by Jane Seymour's.
The gateway itself lies between the Base Court and the Clock Court and was restored recently to its former glory. Henry (of course) put his own mark on the gateway in the shape of a large Tudor-rose in the very centre of the ceiling.

The Tudor-rose in the centre
Henry's unique clock hangs over the gateway

Close-up of one of the surviving lover's knots of Henry and Anne

No comments:

Post a Comment